Eeman or Faith is the foundation of Islam, Eeman means our acceptance of all the beliefs, which constitute the Islamic Faith. These are defined in one of the Traditions of the Holy Prophet of Islam, the Holy Prophet Muhammad, may peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, as follows:

Six Articles of Eeman (Faith) image

The requirements of faith are that you should believe in Allah and in His Angels and in His Books and in His Prophets and in the Last Day and that you should believe in Allah’s determination of good or of evil (Decree of Allah)”. (Muslim)

The Six Articles of Islamic Faith mentioned in the above tradition are as follows:

1. Belief in Allah (One God)

2. Belief in Angels of Allah

3. Belief in Books of Allah

4. Belief in Prophets of Allah

5. Belief in the Last Day

6. Belief in the Decree of Allah

The first five Articles of Faith are mentioned together in different chapters of the Holy Qur’an (2:178, 4:137), while the sixth article is mentioned separately in other chapters (57:23). Let us now briefly discuss these Articles of Faith one by one.