In their religious practice, Muslims follow the Islamic calendar which consists of twelve lunar months. Each month may be 29 or 30 days. On an average, there are 355 days in a lunar year. The fact that the lunar year has approximately ten days less than the solar year, brings an Islamic anniversary ten days ahead each year in the solar calendar.

Following are the names of the Islamic months. Even in pre-Islamic days, four of these months were considered sacred and no fighting was permitted during that period. These sacred months are marked by an (S) below:

01. Muharram (S) The first month of the Islamic calendar

02. Safar

03. Rabi-ul-Awwal The month of the Holy Prophet’s birth, Hijrah and death.

04. Rabi-ul-Thani

05. Jumada-l-Ula

06. Jumada-th-Thaniyya

07. Rajab (S)

08. Shaaban

09. Ramadhan – The month in which the Holy Qur’an started to be revealed and the month in which the Muslims fast.

10. Shawwal – On the first day of this month Eid-ul Fitr is celebrated.

11. Dhul Qadah (S)

12. Dhul Hijja (S) The month in which the Hajj is performed and Eid-ul Adha is celebrated on the 10th of this month.

Selected Sayings
of the Holy Prophet

0980Allah Says: “Whoever moves towards Me by the span of an open hand, I move towards him by half an arm’s length. And whoever moves towards Me by half an arm’s length, I move towards him by the length of an arm. When he comes walking towards Me. I run to meet him”