Five Pillars of Islam

- Stage One Module Two
Share this topic:Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0

Previously we discussed the six fundamentals of Eeman or the Islamic Faith. Now we will study the five pillars of ‘Islam’ or the acts of worship. Eeman stands for Faith, whereas Islam stands for Practice according to our Faith. Our Faith and Practice together make our religion complete.
The five pillars of Islam are defined in the following tradition of the Holy Prophet Muhammad, may peace and blessings of Allah be upon him:


Islam is based on five (pillars):

1. Shahadah – Declaration of Faith, Bearing witness that there is none worthy of worship but Allah, and Muhammad is His Servant and His Messenger

2. Observance of Salat (Five daily obligatory Prayers)

3. Paying Zakaat,

4. Pilgrimage to (the Ka’aba) the House (of Allah) and

5. Fasting during Ramadhan



  Next Topic 

Ask a question